TouchMyth - (only a wee bit of a necro)

Talk about anything here.
cimota

TouchMyth - (only a wee bit of a necro)

Post by cimota »

Hi folks,

Since my last posts her I've been lurking and reading. I'm not sure there is enough interest in a myth-a-like on iPad to justify it. I'm not a developer or a designer so working on something like this was always going to involve raising capital and so far I'm at a bit of a crossroads. I can stay in my comfy job doing marketing work for the digital content (inc games) creators of the north of Ireland or I can take a couple of weeks and head over to the west coast of the USA and meet with some investors who've expressed some interest in the project. Big risk for me :/

I know some of you offered to help design maps and levels but I'm nowhere near needing that. I'm also avoiding the main Myth IP like it was a swarm of bees. I've even steered away from the fantasy genre in our low-fi mockups and initial story development.

The biggest issue is realistic costs. One studio in Spain I contacted said they could "throw together a demo for about £2K and a level for £10k" and that's when alarm bells rang loudly. I presume they meant in Unity or their own engine?

If anyone (especially the devs on here) can give me a realistic estimate for time to develop a game like this (broken down as much as possible) then I'd be really grateful. Post it here is fine. Not looking to do anything in secret. Just like everyone else - this isn't my day job so it's moving slower than anticipated.

(also I got a weird PM from GodzFire and my reply went unanswered)
GodzFire

Re: TouchMyth - (only a wee bit of a necro)

Post by GodzFire »

Sorry, been a heck of a time these past two weeks at work doing overtime. Kinda burnt out and fell behind on contacting people.
cimota

Post by cimota »

GodzFire wrote:Sorry, been a heck of a time these past two weeks at work doing overtime. Kinda burnt out and fell behind on contacting people.
You are a bad person.