Looking for a few brave souls - See the inner workings of geom files

A forum for discussing map making ideas and problems for the Myth series.
Killswitch

Post by Killswitch »

Hey everyone. I'm looking for a couple of heroic type geeks to test out an app I made for Myth. It doesn't do much, but should be of great help for those trying to break down the GEOM tags for models. Oh, and it exports Myth models to Meshwork (cheap 3D program for Macs).

Public beta here:
Mac (OS X): geomview.sit
Windows (98-XP): geomview.zip

Hasn't been tested much. Just run it, click 'Open File' and choose a geom file (extracted already, of course). It'll break down the geom file into more manageable chunks.

If I hear that some people are interested, I'll probably continue working on it.

Killswitch
mauglir

Post by mauglir »

I'm no programmer, but I do know quite a lot about creating models for Myth II. I'd be very interested in whatever you're working on.
Mauglir
iron
Site Admin

Post by iron »

Hey Killswitch, great to see you back :) I've been waiting for the 2nd instalment of Malice ever since your screenshot of it in the Vista forum.

If you'd like to understand more of what goes on inside models/geometry tags to help with coding your tool (not that you seem to need a lot of help), please drop me a line - iron(at)projectmagma.net
...playing as long5hot on War Thunder
Graydon

Post by Graydon »

God...did I read that right? EXPORTS TO MESHWORK?! I love you! Hella nabbing that tool when i get home! :o
Killswitch

Post by Killswitch »

hey, Graydon - knock yourself out. :;):

That's kinda funny as Malice has this same export feature and has been out for years. :)

I'll keep you guys posted on any progress.

Killswitch
Graydon

Post by Graydon »

I have malice....but I never really use it...I used it a few times for porting some TFL models over...thats about it. Good to know! :)
Road

Post by Road »

On PC windows 2000 I get: