Reflection Map - Help

A forum for discussing map making ideas and problems for the Myth series.
Schuder

Reflection Map - Help

Post by Schuder »

Okay, I am fairly new to map making , this is only my second map. I got everything working just fine except for the reflection map. My reflection map is completely black and white and a bitmap. But when I import it nothing happens or if I have used the reflection paint tool it wipes all reflection paint off the map. So is there some kind of special order that you import the maps in?
Thanks,
Pyro
Bug Finder Extraordinaire

Re: Reflection Map - Help

Post by Pyro »

The reflection paint tool is currently broken, so don't use that. Are you sure nothing happens when you import? Did you load up the map and see if the media has reflections? Did you already set media through the terrain map? There is no special order to import.
Schuder

Post by Schuder »

Right now I have the media hand painted with the reflection paint tool and that just has waves no reflection. I did not upload a terrain map but used the terrain paint tool to add the media depth. When I go to maps/reflection map/import and select the black&white bitmap it removes all of my hand painted reflection and does nothing else.

When I load the map in Myth the water has no qualities.
Pyro

Post by Pyro »

Like I said, the reflection paint tool does not work. Do not use it. If your media is not acting like media, you might need to alter your media displacement map. It tells the media where it should be just like a regular displacement map tells non-media where to be. Also, which media did you use? There is a way to alter media to not have reflections if editted in Fear.
Schuder

Post by Schuder »