Need Help Hex Editing Halo UB for Mac

Talk about anything here.
3371-Alpha

Need Help Hex Editing Halo UB for Mac

Post by 3371-Alpha »

Long story, short, I'm attempting to back-port the HaloMD project to older PPC Macs. But before I do that I'd like to fix a few bugs in Halo's engine (particularly the PPC half of the UB executable). I'm an amateur programmer though (haven't actually done much other than compile a few libraries in the past) so I could use some help. Anyone here have knowledge on hex editing?
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0GHz 2003 (Model: 7,2)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
7GB RAM (OWC PC-3200U-30330 DDR SDRAM 400MHz)
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro 64MB (GPU overclocked to 438.75MHz, VRAM to 330.75MHz)
Melekor
Site Admin

Re: Need Help Hex Editing Halo UB for Mac

Post by Melekor »

I want to add some new instructions onto my Intel processor. I'm an amateur engineer though (haven't done much other than some basic VHDL in the past) so I could use some help. Anyone here have any knowledge on soldering irons?
3371-Alpha

Post by 3371-Alpha »

Sarcasm? Maybe I came on a bit too strongly.
Melekor wrote:I want to add some new instructions onto my Intel processor. I'm an amateur engineer though (haven't done much other than some basic VHDL in the past) so I could use some help. Anyone here have any knowledge on soldering irons?
Technically speaking I'm not really planning to add much to Halo, just fix bugs (the game was poorly ported). I could use help (advice mostly) with hex. If you happen to know where you can get a free lesson (or at least on that doesn't cost an arm & a leg) please tell me.
Melekor
Site Admin

Post by Melekor »

It's practically impossible to fix bugs in an existing binary just using a hex editor. I don't know where you got this idea but it's very wrong. Binary patching is an expert level task that requires specialized tools and enormous amounts of time and effort.
3371-Alpha

Post by 3371-Alpha »