Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Talk about anything here.

Moderator: Doobie

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby vinylrake » Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:04 am

That's a nice demo vid for 1.8. I liked the edit at the end where the camera was flying over battles and it transitioned from one map to another without feeling jarring. Nice technique/effect.

Also, love the dynamic window resizing while in-game. Pardon the newbieness but I never play windowed - can the window be dragged to a 2nd monitor?

This looks like a great upgrade - optional functional tweaks, eye candy, and a new game type all in one release? Nice work devs.
vinylrake
 
Posts: 3591
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 12:52 pm
Location: here

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby Pyro » Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:05 pm

vinylrake wrote:...can the window be dragged to a 2nd monitor?


Yes, the windowed Myth can be dragged to a second monitor. Playing it in fullscreen on that monitor might be another story, I know some had issues with that but not all. While Mac doesn't have a resizing feature for its windowed mode (only the OSX/Universal Binary I think has windowed?), you can still drag it to another monitor.
User avatar
Pyro
Bug Finder Extraordinaire
 
Posts: 4622
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby punkUser » Tue Apr 09, 2013 3:08 pm

Jon God wrote:Aw, you should have bonked me for a new version of my dtex, if you were going to do a trailer!

I was going to, but I didn't manage to catch you on udogs in time :( Had to basically do this over the weekend and was up late, etc. If we do any more videos in the future I definitely want to get the updated ones :)
punkUser
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:58 am

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby GodzFire » Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:42 pm

Bonky wrote:Ok I unselected "switch resolutions and now when i start the game its on the same monitor so all good.The only problem now is the lobby is small and in windowed mode,cant make it any bigger.But at least i can play now and it doesn't change the res on the extra monitor


Yep that's the limitation of the UI for Myth, 640x480. Unfortunately without a gigantic code/programming GUI overhaul there's really nothing that can be done about it.
RIP: 1998-2013
GodzFire
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 8:37 pm

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby MindBrain » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:42 pm

Issue: I noticed in a game with about 5 other 1.7.2 people, while I was using 1.8 the video was super choppy. Next game I used 1.7.2 and it was smooth (so it didn't seem to be something else on my computer slowing it down)
MindBrain
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 10:43 am

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby punkUser » Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:11 pm

Can you reproduce this in single player? Can you double-check that all of your settings in Preferences are the same between the two versions?

System specs and have you updated your video drivers recently?
punkUser
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:58 am

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby GHOST® » Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:32 pm

MindBrain wrote:Issue: I noticed in a game with about 5 other 1.7.2 people, while I was using 1.8 the video was super choppy. Next game I used 1.7.2 and it was smooth (so it didn't seem to be something else on my computer slowing it down)

Food for thought. . .

i just played 4 or 5 games where everyone (5 & 6 player games) but me was 1.7.2 and i experienced 0 (ZERO) issues. I had nice high and smooth FPS through out the whole of the games. :o)
"Do you want to be healed now? Or would you prefer to bleed to death so I can try my hand at resurrection?"
User avatar
GHOST®
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 12:19 am
Location: MiChIgAn

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby MindBrain » Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:36 am

GHOST® wrote:
MindBrain wrote:Issue: I noticed in a game with about 5 other 1.7.2 people, while I was using 1.8 the video was super choppy. Next game I used 1.7.2 and it was smooth (so it didn't seem to be something else on my computer slowing it down)

Food for thought. . .

i just played 4 or 5 games where everyone (5 & 6 player games) but me was 1.7.2 and i experienced 0 (ZERO) issues. I had nice high and smooth FPS through out the whole of the games. :o)


Ok I tried again and it happens from having Safari open and a couple web pages. Whereas in 1.7.2 having Safari open wouldn't affect the game. Maybe its just from more resources that 1.8 uses I guess...
MindBrain
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 10:43 am

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby bluseychris2 » Wed Apr 10, 2013 6:15 am

Posted this in the wrong thread earlier...

Is there any way to modify things so we can have a total plugins list for what's actually in the plugins folder as opposed to just what M2 has listed that can be loaded? And is there a possibility of a maps only folder for separating multiplayer only maps? Those are additions that would be nice. I know there are issues with M2 only accepting so many plugins in a folder.

The only other thing I'd want added is a 'linking' list (someone did explain about the mouse options in another thread). A bit like a pre/loading database, letting you group plugins under one heading/name and enabling them to both be loaded by selecting the custom heading or name. As an example I'd block ROL/ROG under SoA and select the SoA 'plugin' when I wanted to play them, at the moment they are listed as different campaigns and so I can't have one map auto load the next. I assume that the system will auto sort campaigns into alphabetical order.

Aside from, that loving the new interface work for it all.
User avatar
bluseychris2
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: The Black Country, England

CWR play "assert encountered"

Postby erileykc » Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:47 am

This has been the case since beta build 412 at least. Playing CWR units and maps. A Better Day to Die Co-op displays assert encountered within a few seconds of the units going green on the map. Also when using the speed control ( F1 and F2 ) there is no display of the game speed as there was in 1.72.
Yankee
erileykc
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:03 pm
Location: WDC

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby Pyro » Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:58 pm

For any assert found, please link us to the plugin used. Also, zip and attach a film with the assert in a post for us to look at. As for the game speed not showing up, is this while the assert is showing? If so, that is normal as the same thing happens with OOS message. If there was no asset or OOS then it is a bug and we will need more information on it.

Bluseychris2, one of the devs was interested in supporting subfolders in the plugins folder, but there was not enough time. Maybe in a future update. Why would you need a total list of plugins instead of just showing what you can load?
User avatar
Pyro
Bug Finder Extraordinaire
 
Posts: 4622
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby GodzFire » Wed Apr 10, 2013 2:18 pm

I'll be honest, since you can't rename plugins (which sucks when people give them really weird or inaccurate names), having subfolders for organization reasons would be nice.
RIP: 1998-2013
GodzFire
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 8:37 pm

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby MindBrain » Wed Apr 10, 2013 4:39 pm

I noticed the plugin list on the host screen seems strange and not to be in fully alphabetic order. Should it be?
MindBrain
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 10:43 am

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby punkUser » Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:21 pm

MindBrain wrote:I noticed the plugin list on the host screen seems strange and not to be in fully alphabetic order. Should it be?

It's sorted in terms of which plugins have the most meshes I believe.
punkUser
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:58 am

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby Platinum » Wed Apr 10, 2013 11:33 pm

Awesome demo video for 1.8. Why are some of the names blurred out and others are not?
Platinum
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:54 pm
Location: Pluto [Still a Planet]

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests