Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Talk about anything here.

Moderator: Doobie

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby punkUser » Mon Apr 22, 2013 9:48 pm

Industry wrote:Anisotropic Filtering is off.

Hmm, log says otherwise - guess we need to fix that :)

Industry wrote:Texture Cache size is the same (144MB) in both. Both versions are in the same folder so they are using the same preferences file.

That doesn't always work properly though since the settings change from version to version. To be safe it might be worth wiping it out and trying from a fresh copy of each where you set the settings the same.
punkUser
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:58 am

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby Isolder » Tue Apr 23, 2013 4:31 pm

Please have mapsets be sorted alphabetically by plugin name. Just throwing in my +vote for that.

Also, I see some problems with the new Mapsets listing functionality. Or at least I'm a little unclear how that works...

1) No longer shows you when a plugin requires another plugin. Is this being automatically enabled by Myth now so long as "requires" is set? I guess it must be since my adaptive addon loads despite me not enabling another plugin.

2) How do you load two plugs that work together when neither is considered a tagset and also does not have requires set?

3) Plugin artwork is not shown for non-tagset plugins. I have any number of examples: my Recon adaptive addon, Magma's Shadow III, Magma's Fallen Levels, Magma's UTB Expansion pack. All of these had custom made artwork that showed in the Plugins dialog when selected. With this new set up those are just gone. I don't agree with that. Maybe this has already been brought up, but I think it's worth noting. Something should be done so that this artwork is still displayed.
Isolder
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:55 am

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby GodzFire » Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:35 pm

Isolder wrote:3) Plugin artwork is not shown for non-tagset plugins. I have any number of examples: my Recon adaptive addon, Magma's Shadow III, Magma's Fallen Levels, Magma's UTB Expansion pack. All of these had custom made artwork that showed in the Plugins dialog when selected. With this new set up those are just gone. I don't agree with that. Maybe this has already been brought up, but I think it's worth noting. Something should be done so that this artwork is still displayed.


I have brought this up and have pushed for an alternate layout be used and created one of my own which was met with lukewarm response at best. If nothing else I prefer to just continue using the previous one.
RIP: 1998-2013
GodzFire
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 8:37 pm

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby Myrd » Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:03 pm

Isolder wrote:2) How do you load two plugs that work together when neither is considered a tagset and also does not have requires set?


That was not previously possible either. If you selected multiple mesh plugins, only the one from which the selected mesh is from would be used, unless the requires mechanism was used.

Isolder wrote:3) Plugin artwork is not shown for non-tagset plugins. I have any number of examples: my Recon adaptive addon, Magma's Shadow III, Magma's Fallen Levels, Magma's UTB Expansion pack. All of these had custom made artwork that showed in the Plugins dialog when selected. With this new set up those are just gone. I don't agree with that. Maybe this has already been brought up, but I think it's worth noting. Something should be done so that this artwork is still displayed.


We're leaving in a possibility for a custom interface to change the new game dialog to have this control - if present, Myth will update it appropriately based on the plugin that was selected.
Myrd
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3678
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 10:17 pm

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby Isolder » Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:37 pm

Myrd wrote:
Isolder wrote:3) Plugin artwork is not shown for non-tagset plugins. I have any number of examples: my Recon adaptive addon, Magma's Shadow III, Magma's Fallen Levels, Magma's UTB Expansion pack. All of these had custom made artwork that showed in the Plugins dialog when selected. With this new set up those are just gone. I don't agree with that. Maybe this has already been brought up, but I think it's worth noting. Something should be done so that this artwork is still displayed.


We're leaving in a possibility for a custom interface to change the new game dialog to have this control - if present, Myth will update it appropriately based on the plugin that was selected.


I'm not sure what you're saying has to do with what I meant. I mean things like this, which I don't see anywhere in 1.8 for non tagset plugs:
Image
Isolder
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:55 am

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby Pyro » Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:44 pm

It means custom interfaces have the option to include it even if the default might not. Don't worry about it, if 1.8 won't have it by default, an alternate one will be available at the Tain with the plugin banner. Whether you'll like it is another story.
User avatar
Pyro
Bug Finder Extraordinaire
 
Posts: 4622
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby punkUser » Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:42 pm

Isolder wrote:Please have mapsets be sorted alphabetically by plugin name. Just throwing in my +vote for that.

I've already changed this for the next build - it is alphabetical but with Myth 2 at the top.

[Edit] Disregard... some debate over how best to do this.
punkUser
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:58 am

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby GHOST® » Fri Apr 26, 2013 6:53 pm

Speaking of Plugin Previews, apparently custom interfaces can no longer override internal default plugin pic ##p#. It pulls MII's default outta somewhere and uses it instead. Works fine outta the local, of course, but once its a interface plugin, nadda doing. :o(

Also, just noticed, (or the fact just sank in), once the interface plugin is created, activating it in Oak and looking at this collection will also only show the default pict, duplicate this tag to the local and it WILL be the default image in the COLL, but disassemble it to a local, and the correct replacement image will be in the COLL.


That is all.

EDIT:: Please ignore my minor mental meltdown, Pryo has re-righted me upon the path of understandings.
Last edited by GHOST® on Fri Apr 26, 2013 8:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Do you want to be healed now? Or would you prefer to bleed to death so I can try my hand at resurrection?"
User avatar
GHOST®
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 12:19 am
Location: MiChIgAn

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby Myrd » Fri Apr 26, 2013 8:21 pm

Industry wrote:I've been having a problem with frame rates in 1.8 PB. In the latest Mazzarin's Demise (10a) when the action gets busy i.e. many monsters my frame rates drop appreciably, like to 12 fps. They pick right back up again, but that seems to make it worse, my brain doesn't adjust to the variable frame rate as fast as myth does so I interpret some of the delay as misclicks and repeat actions, don't perform them, immo the team, etc.

I've been trying to figure it out, but Pyro insisted I post about it. Damn public beta. So here's the film, a 1.8 pb myth_log.txt, and a 1.7.2 myth_log.txt. I have a power users file where I've shut off MipMaps, Shaders, and NPO2 Textures (whatever those are).

Oh and I am on a Mac Mini using OS X 10.5.8, Intel Processor, 1GB RAM circa 2009.

Hmm, film is too large, I'll put it in my Uploads on Udogs.
http://hl.udogs.net/files/Uploads/%20Us ... ploads/WTF


Hmm, when this happens, can you check the memory being used on your system using Activity Monitor app (in Applications -> Utilities)? I wonder if it may be happening due to all your memory being used by open programs and Mac OS X starting to swap.
Myrd
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3678
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 10:17 pm

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby Point » Fri Apr 26, 2013 11:31 pm

re: industry

""Hmm, when this happens, can you check the memory being used on your system using Activity Monitor app (in Applications -> Utilities)? I wonder if it may be happening due to all your memory being used by open programs and Mac OS X starting to swap."" myrd

I noticed the slow downs happening on my mac...turning off detail textures etc.. didnt seem to help. definite slow downs at times that i didnt notice in 1.7.2

I usually run background applications in 1.7.2 so unless the latest firefox is handling memory different not sure why in 1.8 performance seems more sluggish. I'll try running the latest build with nothing else running and see if that helps.
Play more Flashpoint Play more Myth then go live some life
Point
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby GodzFire » Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:12 pm

Pyro wrote:It means custom interfaces have the option to include it even if the default might not. Don't worry about it, if 1.8 won't have it by default, an alternate one will be available at the Tain with the plugin banner. Whether you'll like it is another story.


OR, the one with the banner can become the default again like some are requesting.

Punk why was the alphabetical fix removed?
RIP: 1998-2013
GodzFire
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 8:37 pm

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby Two Smoking Guns » Sun Apr 28, 2013 2:58 pm

One more thing, having the trading block in the middle of the screen, blocking my view of the units is TERRIBLE, at least for me.
Two Smoking Guns
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 4:45 pm

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby paladin MAIK » Mon Apr 29, 2013 4:48 am

And I have a question. In version 1.8 units will be replaced with a more beautiful? :|

Yes, I was very worried.
Image
Last 3 project frozen for an indefinite period
User avatar
paladin MAIK
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 12:31 am
Location: (RU)

Re: Myth II 1.8.0 Public Beta

Postby Myrd » Wed May 01, 2013 8:32 pm

Two Smoking Guns wrote:One more thing, having the trading block in the middle of the screen, blocking my view of the units is TERRIBLE, at least for me.


We're aware and this is already fixed for the next update.
Myrd
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3678
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 10:17 pm

Previous

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest